Australia’s World Heritage Sites and Photographic Exhibition

June 15, 2007 by

Australia & the Pacific, Places to Go

Australia's World Heritage Sites and Photographic Exhibition
Lord Howe Island Group

Did you know that Australia has 16 World Heritage sites located across the length and breadth of our vast continent and even offshore? Some are in such remote locations few people have had the opportunity to visit.

Editor’s Note: 16 sites? Did we say 16 World Heritage sites? Since we posted this originally on June 15, Australia has received some exciting news: the UN World Heritage committee has voted (unanimously no less) to give the Sydney Opera House World Heritage status! Congratulations Sydney, congratulations Australia, well done on your 17th World Heritage site. Now back to our original post…

Australia has long recognised the importance of preserving its rich and diverse natural and cultural heritage and was one of the first signatories to the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. Since then, 182 countries have ratified the treaty. Sites nominated for World Heritage listing are inscribed on the list only after they have been carefully assessed as representing the best examples of the world’s cultural and natural heritage.

Each of Australia’s World Heritage properties is outstanding in its own right and collectively they present an amazing diversity of places and values. Now, gain an insight into some of the most outstanding places on earth through a stunning commemorative photographic exhibition featuring a collection of images from each of Australia’s World Heritage properties.

The breathtaking images on display provide a window into some of the most outstanding places on Earth, and will no doubt encourage all who visit to explore our great county.

Entry to the exhibition is free of charge, see it at:

  • 19 May – 14 June 2007 – Dorrigo Rainforest Centre, Dorrigo, NSW
  • 15 June – 3 July 2007 – Christchurch Town Hall, Christchurch, New Zeland
  • 4 July – 30 July 2007 – James Cook University, Cairns Campus, Cairns, QLD
  • 31 July – 28 August 2007 – Skyrail, Caravonica, QLD
  • 29 August – 15 October 2007 – Blue Mountains Heritage Centre, Blackheath, NSW
  • 16 October – January 2008 – Tasmanian Wilderness, World Heritage Area, TAS

Australia’s World Heritage sites, and date of World Heritage listing:

Australia's World Heritage Sites and Photographic Exhibition
Great Barrier Reef

Great Barrier Reef
Kakadu National Park (Stage 2, 1987; Stage 3, 1992)
Willandra Lakes Region

Tasmanian Wilderness (Extended 1989)
Lord Howe Island Group

Central Eastern Rainforest Reserves (Australia) (extended in 1994)

Australia's World Heritage Sites and Photographic Exhibition
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park (extended in 1994)


Wet Tropics of Queensland

Shark Bay, Western Australia

Fraser Island

Australian Fossil Mammal Sites (Riversleigh/Naracoorte)

Australia's World Heritage Sites and Photographic Exhibition
Shark Bay

Heard and McDonald Islands
Macquarie Island

The Greater Blue Mountains

Purnululu National Park

Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton Gardens

Vicki Potts

If you need a place to stay, check out Sydney Hotels on

One Response to “Australia’s World Heritage Sites and Photographic Exhibition”

  1. National Parks Says:

    If you are coming to Australia and are interested in visiting its extraordinary nature and wildlife, then have a look at Alessandro Sorbello site about Australian National parks – every national park is covered in this comprehensive site . The site is below you will find an excerpt

    Victoria National Parks
    Victoria has more than 4 million hectares, or 14 per cent of the state, which are wilderness, state and regional park and reserve areas.

    Parks Victoria manages national, wilderness, state and regional parks, Melbourne’s metropolitan parks and open space network as well as the Lower Yarra, Maribyrnong and Patterson Rivers and Port Phillip and Western Port Bays.

    A key feature of Victoria’s parks and reserves is the diversity of ecosytems protected.

    Victoria is a small state by Australian standards, but Victoria’s natural habitats range from alpine to semi-arid, from coastal environments to temperate rainforests and rolling grasslands.